Walter Scott Prize

Sponsored by Sir Walter Scott’s distant kinsmen the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch, the Prize celebrates quality, and innovation of writing in the English language, and is open to books published in the previous year in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth. 
Reflecting the subtitle ‘Sixty Years Since’ of Scott’s most famous work Waverley, the majority of the storyline must have taken place at least 60 years ago.Honouring the achievements of the founding father of the historical novel, the Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction is one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world. With a total value of over £30,000, it is unique for rewarding writing of exceptional quality which is set in the past. 
The Prize was founded in 2010, and is awarded at the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland, in June every year. The winner receives £25,000 and shortlisted authors each receive £1000.


The Narrow Land by Christine Dwyer Hickey

To Calais, In Ordinary Times by James Meek

Shadowplay by Joseph O'Connor

The Redeemed by Tim Pears

A Sin of Omission by Marguerite Poland


(A) A Long Way Home by Peter Carey 

After the Party by Cressida Connolly

The Western Wind by Samantha Harvey

Warlight by Michael Oondaatje

The Long Take by Robin Robertson


Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan

Grace by Paul Lynch

The Wardrobe Mistress by Patrick McGrath

Miss Boston and Miss Hargreaves by Rachel Malik

The Gallows Pole by Benjamin Myers


Jo Baker A Country Road, A Tree 

Sebastian Barry Days Without End 

(A) Hannah Kent The Good People

Francis Spufford Golden Hill

Rose Tremain The Gustav Sonata


William Boyd Sweet Caress

Patrick Gale A Place Called Winter

Gavin McCrea Mrs Engels

Allan Massie End Games in Bordeaux

Simon Mawer Tightrope


John Spurling The Ten Thousand Things

Martin Amis The Zone of Interest

Helen Dunmore The Lie England

Hermione Eyre Viper Wine

Adam Foulds In the Wolf's Mouth

Damon Galgut Arctic Summer

Kamila Shamsie A God in Every Stone


Robert Harris An Officer and a Spy

Kate Atkinson Life After Life

Jim Crace Harvest

Andrew Greig Fair Helen

Ann Weisgarber The Promise


Tan Twan Eng The Garden of Evening Mists

Pat Barker Toby's Room

Anthony Quinn The Streets

Rose Tremain Merivel: A Man of His Time


Sebastian Barry On Canaan's Side

Esi Edugyan Half-Blood Blues

Alan Hollinghurst The Stranger's Child

Barry Unsworth The Quality of Mercy


Andrea Levy The Long Song

Tom McCarthy C

David Mitchell The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet

Joseph O'Connor Ghost Light

C. J. Sansom Heartstone

Andrew Williams To Kill A Tsar


Adam Thorpe Hodd 

Robert Harris Lustrum

Sarah Dunant Sacred Hearts

Iain Pears Stone's Fall

Simon Mawer The Glass Room

Adam Foulds The Quickening Maze

No comments:

Post a Comment

This blog has now moved to Wordpress.
Please visit This Reading Life to comment.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.