Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (ALMA) is the world’s largest award for children’s and young adult literature.

Authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters are eligible for the award, which is designed to promote interest in children’s and young adult literature. 

The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child is the foundation of our work.

The Award rewards works or activities of the highest quality but the laureates must also embrace the humanistic values that Astrid Lindgren treasured.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award was founded by the Swedish government in 2002 and is administrated by the Swedish Arts Council.


Jacqueline Woodson (US)

Wolf Erlbruch (Germany)

PRAESA, Project for the Study of Alternative Education in Cape Town (South Africa)

Barbro Lindgren (Sweden)

Isol (Argentina)

Guus Kuijer (Netherlands)

Shaun Tan (Australian)

 Kitty Crowther (Belgium)

Tamar Institute for Community Education in Ramallah (Palestine)

Sonya Hartnett (Australian)

Banco del Libro (Venezuela)

Katherine Paterson (US)

Ryoji Arai (Japan) & Philip Pullman (UK)

Lygia Bojunga (Brazil)

Christine Nostlinger (Austrian) & Maurice Sendak (US)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing from you but I understand that blogger commenting can be a frustrating experience for many.

Make sure you're logged into your account before writing your comment, otherwise blogger will eat it. I have occasionally found lost comments by hitting the back arrow button.

A recent discussion with blogger admin revealed that the ability to post comments "is sensitive to both cookie and script filters. Your readers may need to enable (stop filtering) 'third party cookies', in their browser and on their computer. And, have them check their script filters, too. Third party cookies filtering, in a browser setting, is the most common solution. Filters are subject to update, by the creator. If the problem started a few days ago, your readers may have to look on their computers, and find out what product or accessory was updated, a few days ago."
I hope this helps. Using a different browser for a while was another suggestion.

All anonymous comments will be deleted.

If all else fails, you can contact me on my fb page or twitter.

Thanks to another increase in spam comments I have now added word verification on ALL posts.