Monday 16 July 2012

Arkie Sparkle Treasure Hunter by Petra James

For young girls who love their EJ 12 books comes a new series about a time-travelling 11 year old.

Arkie's parents are archaeologists, hence her name! The series begins when Arkie's parents are kidnapped and Arkie is left a series of clues and challenges - she must find seven treasures across the seven continents in seven days. She is helped by her BFF, TJ and the dog-wonder, Cleo.

Arkie Sparkle is an easy, fun romp through history and geography.

The reader is required to make a few leaps of faith as improbable events abound, but, hey, there aren't too many books for 7 -10 year readers that casually throw in Latin quotes or Confucious sayings.

Book 1: Code Crimson is out now published by Pan Macmillan Australia.
Book 2: Time Trap is due out next month.
Book 3: White Fright is due out in September.
Book 4: Ruby Red is due out in October.

Petra James is a pseudonym for "an emerging children's author" as quoted from the Pan Macmillan title page. So he/she/they could be Australian, but I'm always a little disappointed when the author chooses anonymity.


  1. These sounds like interesting and rather cerebral books for kids. I understand your displeasure with the anonymous emerging childrens author business. Still I'll keep an eye out for this series.

  2. The authors name is Claire Craig, she is also the author of Harriet Bright series refer to


This blog has now moved to Wordpress.
Please visit This Reading Life to comment.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.