Monday, 14 October 2013

Miles Franklin Literary Award

In preparation for AusReading Month in November I will be posting lists of Australian classics and literary awards to help you get started with your love and appreciation of Australian literature.

I'm looking forward to reading your reviews and views.

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is named after Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin who was born on the 14th October 1879 on Talbingo station. Talbingo is a tiny township in southern NSW sitting on the north-western edge of the Snowy Mountains. The original village was moved in the 1960's to accommodate the Snowy Mountain Hydro Electric Scheme.

Franklin's family moved a little to the east to Brindabella Station when she was a child. She was the eldest daughter of two Australian born parents (which is noteworthy for the time as most of the population were new immigrants). In fact, one of Franklin's great-great grandfathers was a convict on the First Fleet.

Franklin's most famous novel, My Brilliant Career, is a coming of age story about a feisty, rural, feminist Sybylla. Franklin wrote this during her teenage years and was it loosely based on her own life. It was published in 1901. A movie was also made in 1979 which rekindled interest in the story and Miles Franklin all over again.

Franklin died in 1954. Her will set up an annual literary prize awarded to "a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases".

For lists of the longlisted and shortlisted books for the Miles Franklin click here.

2013 Questions of Travel – Michelle De Kretser
2012 All That I Am – Anna Funder
2011 That Deadman Dance – Kim Scott
2010 Truth – Peter Temple
2009 Breath – Tim Winton
2008 The Time We Have Taken – Steven Carroll
2007 Carpentaria – Alexis Wright
2006 The Ballad of Desmond Kale – Roger McDonald
2005 The White Earth – Andrew McGahan
2004 The Great Fire – Shirley Hazzard
2003 Journey to the Stone Country – Alex Miller
2002 Dirt Music – Tim Winton
2001 The Dark Palace – Frank Moorhouse
2000 Drylands – Thea Astley
         Benang – Kim Scott
1999 Eucalyptus – Murray Bail
1998 Jack Maggs – Peter Carey
1997 The Glade within the Grovw – David Foster
1996 Highways to a War – Christopher Koch
1995 The Hand that Signed the Paper – Helen Demidenko
1994 The Grisly Wife – Rodney Hall
1993The Ancestor Game – Alex Miller
1992 Cloudstreet – Tim Winton
1991 The Great World – David Malouf
1990 Oceana Fine – Tom Flood
1989 Oscar and Lucinda – Peter Carey
1988 The year of the Award was changed to the year granted rather than the year published.
1987 Dancing on Coral – Glenda Adams
1986 The Well – Elizabeth Jolley
1985 The Doubleman – Christopher Koch
1984 Shallows – Tim Winton
1983 No award
1982 Just Relations – Rodney Hall
1981 Bliss – Peter Carey
1980 The Impersonators – Jessica Anderson
1979 A Woman of the Future – David Ireland
1978 Tirra Lirra by the River – Jessica Anderson
1977 Swords and Crowns and Rings – Ruth Park
1976 The Glass Canoe – David Ireland
1975 Poor Fellow My Country – Xavier Herbert
1974 The Mango Tree – Ronald McKie
1973 No award
1972 The Acolyte – Thea Astley
1971 The Unknown Industrial Prisoner – David Ireland
1970 A Horse of Air – Dal Stivens
1969 Clean Straw For Nothing – George Johnston
1968 Three Cheers For the Paraclete – Thomas Keneally
1967 Bring Larks and Heroes – Thomas Keneally
1966 Trap – Peter Mathers
1965 The Slow Natives – Thea Astley
1964 My Brother Jack – George Johnston
1963 Careful He Might Hear You – Summer Locke Elliott
         The Cupboard Under The Stairs – George Turner
1962 The Well Dressed Explorer – Thea Astley
1961 Riders in the Chariot – Patrick White
1960 The Irishman – Elizabeth O’Connor
1959 The Big Fellow – Vance Palmer
1958 To The Islands - Randolph Stow
1957 Voss - Patrick White

Happy Birthday Stella!

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing from you but I understand that blogger commenting can be a frustrating experience for many.

Make sure you're logged into your account before writing your comment, otherwise blogger will eat it. I have occasionally found lost comments by hitting the back arrow button.

A recent discussion with blogger admin revealed that the ability to post comments "is sensitive to both cookie and script filters. Your readers may need to enable (stop filtering) 'third party cookies', in their browser and on their computer. And, have them check their script filters, too. Third party cookies filtering, in a browser setting, is the most common solution. Filters are subject to update, by the creator. If the problem started a few days ago, your readers may have to look on their computers, and find out what product or accessory was updated, a few days ago."
I hope this helps. Using a different browser for a while was another suggestion.

All anonymous comments will be deleted.

If all else fails, you can contact me on my fb page or twitter.

Thanks to another increase in spam comments I have now added word verification on ALL posts.