Thursday 15 December 2016

The Bad Guys Episode 4 Apocalypse Meow by Aaron Blabey

I love this series of early readers so very, very much.

It's clever. It's fun. And it's a little subversive. It also follows the golden rule that a truly great, entertaining children's book is a truly great, entertaining book for adults as well.

Apocalypse Meow is the fourth book in Blabey's Bad Guys series.

We last saw our wannabe good guys facing off against the advancing kitten apocalypse unleashed by the evil genius Dr Marmalade.

In Apocalypse Meow our team of Sort-Of-International-League-Of-Good-Guys-Guys divides to conquer.

Mr Wolf, Legs and Snake venture forth with Agent Fox to find an antidote, while Mr Shark and Piranha head off to find Dr Marmalade's hideout.

As per usual, nothing quite goes to plan. A meeting with an ageing Granny Gumbo almost leads to the untimely end of Mr Snake. Dr Marmalade reveals that the zitten apocalypse was merely phase one of his plans. And his sudden disappearance in a rocket ship, shifts the action to a much higher plane.

Laughter, terror and ridiculous disguises keep the action rolling along nicely. Mr Wolf also finds time to do a little flirting with Agent Fox, as our good guys continue to escape from one crisis only to land in the next!

The promise of interstellar mayhem in Episode 5 might see our favourite Sort-Of-Good-Guys become the Intergalactic-League-Of-Good-Guys-Guys!

The Bad Guys are perfect for early readers who are gaining confidence with form and font or as a fun, fun read aloud with your favourite four year old.

Episode 1 The Bad Guys
Episode 2 Mission Unpluckable
Episode 3 The Furball Strikes Back
Episode 4 Apocalypse Meow

No comments:

Post a Comment

This blog has now moved to Wordpress.
Please visit This Reading Life to comment.

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.